Employee Off-boarding Procedures
The purpose of this document is to explain the policies and procedures for Off-boarding Davey employee's access and IT equipment.
Computer System Access
When an employee leaves the company, SAM will automatically disable their computer system access, as long as the employee's personnel record has been updated with their end date.
SAM currently uses the employee's end-date, which is usually on the Sunday following the last date worked. With the introduction of the new SuccessFactors HR system in early 2021, SAM will instead deactivate access at midnight on the end of the last date worked.
IMPORTANT: If an employee has access to sensitive data or is being terminated involuntarily, please contact the IT Service Desk to have the access disabled immediately.
An employee's files may be stored in several different locations.
Local computer files
Files stored locally on a laptop or desktop computer's hard drive must be recovered by the IT department. Open a ticket with the Service Desk for assistance.
Files stored on the employee's M: drive must be recovered by the IT department. The files can be copied to the supervisor's M: drive. Open a ticket with the Service Desk for assistance.
If the employee has files in Microsoft OneDrive, the employee's supervisor will receive an email from Microsoft with a link to access the employee's files. The supervisor may preserve the files by copying them to their own OneDrive. The files will be deleted permanently after 30 days. The supervisor who received the email needs to be the person clicking on the link in the email as the link does not work if forwarded to another person in the company. After 30 days, there is NO way to recover this data.
If the employee has files in Google Drive, the employee's supervisor will receive an email from Access Management advising them to contact the Service Desk to preserve these files. If no action is taken, the files will be deleted permanently after 30 days. After 30 days, there is NO way to recover this data.
Email accounts are automatically deleted 30 days following an employee's last date worked. Access to past emails can be provided using Mimecast. To keep the email address active, it can be moved to another user's mailbox as an alias. Contact the Service Desk for assistance.
For Brivo building access control systems that are maintained by Corporate, keycards, fobs, and mobile device apps that are assigned to employees are deactivated at the same time computer system access is revoked. Return any fob or keycard to the IT Security team so that it can be reconfigured for another employee.
If the employee was issued a mobile device by Davey, the service will need to be deactivated or transferred to another employee. You can do this by contacting the Service Desk. If the Service Desk is not alerted to the transfer, it will be assumed the device still is used by the former employee and the service will be deactivated on the device.